Organizing Baby and Toddler Clothes

March 28, 2014 § Leave a comment

What did I ever get excited about before I had kids……………………………………………………………………….. moving on…..

I have had multiple totes and trash bags full of sorted-by-size, “organized” baby clothes hidden in closets or just in corners of the fourth bedroom that we don’t use since…………….. before we moved into our current house. Baby clothes is one of those things that is easy to hoard and can get out of control – especially for a family not done growing.

I did give away a bunch of little baby clothes – trying to eliminate some of the clutter – when I was pregnant with Leonardo because I SO believed that he was a girl and just thought that IF it turned out to be a boy then – hey! – shopping trip! Wow. Ya. I know.Thankfully I am friends with a few people who have little boys who could help me fill in the clothing gaps no problem,

But that left me with THAT much more baby clothes again. This house is spacious enough that  I just closed a door and didn’t think about the clutter…… which just kept getting crazier and crazier…. and then friends would give me more clothes and I would sort through, pick out a few things, and pile those items on top of my already overflowing totes.

I spent a couple of hours just a few weeks ago going through every single item of clothing from newborn to 2T just resorting and refolding trying to compress everything and make it more manageable. Granted, I was childless at the time – so no interruptions – and had a favorite show on DVD playing while I worked and was totally enjoying myself. I like that kind of busy work. Makes me feel like I’m accomplishing something. But really I was just wasting time AGAIN working on a project that I’ve done so many times before.

Then it dawned on me recently that hey! Dante – being the oldest AND not having any friends older than him  from whom he receives hand-me-downs, really doesn’t have a ton of clothes. He has a few pairs of pants and a few shirts and pairs of jammies that he cycles through each week. AND since I am managing a two story home (stairs are my adversary) I often will go days before actually taking the time to put everybody’s clothes away. **I am not proud of this – trying to get better about managing my time. I find it difficult to be going up and down the stairs with multiple piles of laundry during the day and then run into either having to leave the kids alone for 3 minutes while I run through the upstairs and put away clothes in respective drawers – in which time someone always is either crying for me to return or beating on their brother, or someone is sleeping in a room that I need to go into to put clothes away and it just ends up in a pile in my room and never gets put away properly** SOOOOO I end up cycling through the same few outfits for people during the week with whatever has been washed and not put away. I have drawers of clothes for the two younger boys that never get worn!

Kids don’t need that much clothes!

What an obvious notion. Heck, I don’t have nearly as many outfits as they do and I get by… maybe my sister would disagree but still!

So I decided to pick one tote per age/size and picked out a handful of outfits for each (3, 6, 9, 12, 18 months, etc) for cold and warm weather, considering every day clothes, church clothes, and pajamas. Holy pajamas! I’m pretty sure that half of my hoard was made up of pajamas. The only time anybody needs so many pajamas is when they’re a newborn – at least in this family…. I almost never dress my tiny babies in “outfits”, even for church – comfort all the way!

And when my husband came home from work and complained that he had to scale a mountain of baby clothes to get into our room (because naturally I piled the “donate” pile in front of our bedroom door) I considered myself triumphant. I bagged up eight 13 gallon trash bags worth of clothing for a quick trip to Salvation Army and am left with six containers of my favorite clothing items from cutie newborn jumpers to size 2 Oshkosh overalls. And only ONE tote (2T I think) is filled because there are two rather bulky coats inside. My pride wishes I could take a picture but I’m missing my camera battery charger at the moment. It’s a beautiful sight. Trust me.`

Bam. Cyber high five!

So if you find yourself hoarding clothes because your family isn’t done growing and you just don’t know WHEN you’re going to have another baby and can’t be sure of what time of year he or she will be born… don’t fret! I feel your pain. It can be hard to get rid of clothes. How do you choose? What if you don’t save enough? You don’t want to be left regretting getting rid of so much and not be prepared when a new baby comes! But really, the clutter finally got to me. I think 10ish t-shirts for summertime are plenty. 3 or 4 pairs of pants and shorts. A few nice sweaters for church. And for the love of dresser drawer orderliness…. 4 to 5 pairs of footies! Stefano is a monster child – he is like the Hulk in more ways than one… we may or may not have nicknamed him Banner……….

………….Anyways! He was gifted a pair of warm raccoon footie pajamas for Christmas and because they are a 3T they fit him great and are just a tad on the long side (he’s 3T in bulk without the height!). It’s so adorable when his heel pops out of one the raccoon feet and he stops where he is and waits for help because his “raccoon is off!!” He loves those things. So instead of stocking up on more 3T pajamas for him he has probably worn those pajamas 5 out of 7 nights a week since Christmas time. No lie. Yet I would stuff his clothes on top of all the 2T jammies that he didn’t even fit into down in his drawer every time I put his clothes away. Lame.

Yay for organization and being one step closer to having an orderly home! Woot woot!

 

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Organizing Baby and Toddler Clothes at sleepless in sagamore...another mom blog.

meta

